Is your personal training really functional?

Personal training, just like functional training, is on everyone's lips and yet everyone has something completely different in mind. Time to clear up prejudices and half-truths. An introduction to functional training.

What is Functional Training?

Functionality can look completely different for you, your body and your life than it does for your spouse, your best friend or the person next to you. The physiotherapist and co-developer of the Functional Movement Screen we use in personal training, Gray Cook, summarizes this very well:

“Functional training is not about what it looks like, but about what it does.” – Gray Cook


In order to train functionally, it is first important to recognize what functional training is NOT. So it's not about standing someone on an unstable surface and throwing a medicine ball to justify personal training (because someone has to throw the ball). No, it's about whether it is functionally beneficial for the person to do the exercise.

Cool doesn't mean good

When training, think in terms of physical actions rather than isolated muscles or muscle groups. Does the exercise you just completed help you improve a certain activity in your everyday life or sport, perform it more efficiently and/or painlessly?


“True functional training is based on science, not history (“we’ve always done it that way”), trends or optics.” – Gavin Nugent


In order to be able to implement this specifically and effectively in personal training, a strong understanding and knowledge of the areas of (functional) anatomy and physics is required. Coupled with the gift of not only identifying complex structures, connections and movement patterns, but also translating them so that they are understandable for everyone. One reason why the level of Fit4TheGame Personal Training is so much higher than that in ordinary fitness clubs.

Here are five training standards that you should apply to every personal training session:

1. Is personal training safe or do you accept an increased risk of injury? 2. Does the training take place under the premise of protecting you from (future) injuries? 3. Does your personal training lead to consistent improvement? This can range from pain reduction to quality of movement or weight reduction to athletic performance in your sport. 4. Is it sufficiently explained to you why you are doing which exercise, how to do it and what direct benefit you will get from it? 5. Does your personal trainer know all the progressions and regressions of an exercise in order to ensure your long-term progress and be able to respond spontaneously to your daily form? We are aware that this article only takes a very superficial look at the topic. We have not consciously gone into the different types of human tissue, proprioception, age, talent or motor learning. Of course, they all also play a big role. More on this in one of our next articles. Nevertheless, we hope that it has already shed some light on the matter and increased your knowledge of functional training a little. You'll look at personal training or trainers at other fitness clubs with new eyes in the future. Promised.
Are you thinking about starting a new training program? All Fit4TheGame personal trainers in Hamburg are available to help and advise you at any time. Or do you generally want to find out more about Fit4TheGame Personal Training in Hamburg? No problem. Arrange your free introductory meeting with one of our fitness experts now. Simply HERE click.
en_GBEnglish
× How can we help you?

Personal Training, genau wie Functional Training, sind in aller Munde und doch stellt sich jeder etwas komplett anderes darunter vor. Zeit, mit Vorurteilen und Halbwahrheiten aufzuräumen. Eine Einführung in Functional Training.

Was ist Functional Training?

Funktionalität kann für dich, deinen Körper und dein Leben komplett anders aussehen, als für deinen Ehepartner, deine(n) beste(n) Freund(in) oder den Menschen neben dir. Der Physiotherapeut und Mit-Entwickler des von uns im Personal Training benutzten Functional Movement Screens, Grey Cook, fast dies sehr gut zusammen:

„Functional Training hat nichts mit dem zu tun, wie es aussieht, sondern mit dem, was es bewirkt.“  – Grey Cook


Um also funktionell zu trainieren, ist es zuerst einmal wichtig zu erkennen, was Functional Training eben NICHT ist. So geht es nicht darum, jemanden auf einen instabilen Untergrund zu stellen und einen Medizinball zuzuwerfen, um ein Personal Training zu rechtfertigen (denn irgendjemand muss ja den Ball werfen). Nein, es geht darum, ob es für denjenigen von funktionellem Nutzen ist, diese Übung zu tun.

Cool ist nicht gleich gut

Denke im Rahmen deines Trainings in körperlichen Handlungen, statt in isolierten Muskeln oder Muskelgruppen. Hilft dir die gerade absolvierte Übung, eine gewisse Handlung deines Alltags oder Sports zu verbessern, effizienter und/oder schmerzfrei durchzuführen?


„Echtes Functional Training basiert auf Wissenschaft, nicht auf Geschichte („wir haben das immer schon so gemacht“), Trends oder Optik.“  – Gavin Nugent


Um dies in einem Personal Training gezielt und effektiv umsetzen zu können, bedarf es einem ausgeprägten Verständnis und Wissen in den Bereichen (funktioneller) Anatomie sowie Physik. Gepaart mit der Gabe, komplexe Strukturen, Zusammenhänge und Bewegungsmuster nicht nur zu identifizieren, sondern so zu übersetzen, dass sie für jedermann verständlich sind. Ein Grund dafür, warum das Level von Fit4TheGame Personal Training soviel höher anzusiedeln ist, als das in gewöhnlichen Fitnessclubs.

Hier fünf Trainings-Maßstäbe, die du an jedes Personal Training anlegen solltest:

1. Ist das Personal Training sicher oder wird ein erhöhtes Verletzungsrisiko deinerseits billigend in Kauf genommen? 2. Findet das Training unter der Prämisse statt, dich vor (zukünftigen) Verletzungen zu schützen? 3. Führt dein Personal Training zu einer konstanten Verbesserung? Das kann von Schmerzreduzierung über Bewegungsqualität oder Gewichtsreduzierung bis hin zur sportlichen Leistung in deinem Sport reichen. 4. Wird dir ausreichend erklärt, warum du welche Übung ausführst, wie dies zu tun ist und welchen direkten Nutzen du davon haben werden? 5. Kennt dein Personal Trainer alle Progressionen und Regressionen einer Übung, um deinen langfristigen Fortschritt zu gewährleisten und spontan auf deine Tagesform eingehen zu können? Uns ist bewusst, dass dieser Artikel die Thematik nur stark oberflächlich betrachtet. Ganz bewußt sind wir hierfür noch nicht in die verschiedenen Gewebeformen des Menschen, Propriozeption, Alter, Talent oder motorisches Lernen gegangen. Sie alle spielen natürlich ebenfalls eine große Rolle. Mehr hierzu in einem unserer nächsten Artikel. Dennoch hoffen wir, dass er schon jetzt ein wenig Licht ins Dunkel bringen und dein Wissen über Functional Training ein wenig steigern konnte. Du wirst in Zukunft Personal Training oder Trainer in anderen Fitnessclubs mit neuen Augen betrachten. Versprochen.
Du denkst darüber nach, ein neues Trainingsprogramm zu starten? Alle Fit4TheGame Personal Trainer in Hamburg stehen dir jederzeit mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Oder willst du generell mehr über Fit4TheGame Personal Training in Hamburg erfahren? Kein Problem. Vereinbare jetzt deinen kostenlosen Kennenlernternim bei einem unserer Fitnessexperten. Einfach HIER klicken.
Claim your 14-day Challenge for just 49 €!

Claim your 14-day Challenge for just 49 €!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

Congratulations! You've claimed your 14-day Challenge. We'll contact you shortly to arrange your first appointment